Tour de France: Peter Sagan wins stage five as Julian Alaphilippe retains lead

Peter Sagan wins stage six of the 2019 Tour de France

Peter Sagan secured his first win of this year’s Tour de France as he sprinted to victory on stage five.

Rui Costa made a late break on the hilly 175.5km route to Colmar but after he was hauled in Sagan was dominant as he took his 12th Tour stage win.

The Bora-Hansgrohe rider, 29, was followed home by Wout van Aert and Matteo Trentin.

Defending champion Geraint Thomas stays seventh overall, 45 seconds adrift of race leader Julian Alaphilippe.

More to follow.

Stage five results

1. Peter Sagan (Svk/Bora-Hansgrohe) +4hrs 2mins 33secs

2. Wout van Aert (Bel/Jumbo-Visma) Same time

3. Matteo Trentin (Ita/Mitchelton-Scott)

4. Sonny Colbrelli (Ita/Bahrain Merida)

5. Greg van Avermaet (Bel/CCC)

6. Julien Simon (Fra/Cofidis)

7. Michael Matthews (Aus/Sunweb)

8. Nils Politt (Ger/Katusha-Alpecin)

9. Jasper Stuyven (Bel/Trek-Segafredo)

10. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra/Deceuninck-Quick Step)

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

#SoEnduro Review: 76 Projects Little Piggy & Piggy Dry Bag stash gear safely on the bike
Paris-Ancaster 2020 – Get Ready!
Ex-British Cycling head of medicine doubts Freeman’s testosterone claim
PEZ Rides The MURO di ca’ del POGGIO
Banshee V3 lands w/updated geo for Prime, Phantom & Spitfire All-Mountain Trail Bikes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *